Brillux Logo


The organization

Clear Orderly System

The organization of Brillux Scala

Like all color design systems, Brillux Scala also defines individual nuances based on the properties of color shade, saturation, and lightness.

Color Shade Family – Saturation – Lightness

Color shade is the major property because it determines character. It describes the type of color, for example a specific pure yellow, red or green, within the color range. Brillux Scala is based on 32 carefully chosen, pure color shades, covering the complete color spectrum. 32 Scala color shade families have been developed from these basic shades.

Saturation indicates to what extent the original pure spectral color is contained in a color, thus indicating its colorfulness. The more the color shade is shifted toward the gray range, the lower the saturation is. Black, white and neutral gray, as achromatic colors, have no saturation at all.

Lightness determines how light or dark a color is based on its degree of light reflection. Of course the greatest lightness differences are found between white and black and, in the case of chromatic colors, between yellow and violet. However, even within the same color family, individual shades can be different based on their lightness parameters.

The Scala Identification Code

Scala color codes are based on color shade, saturation, and lightness. Each color shade is identified individually by the Scala identification code, a sequence of six numbers. This code has been developed as an open system which means that updates and extensions are always possible to keep it current. The first two numbers indicate the color shade family. The 32 Scala color families are assigned the numberss 03 through 96 in steps of three. The next two numbers indicate the degree of color saturation. The final two numbers define its lightness.